Category: Awards

Anthony Wallace’s novel named finalist for PEN/Hemingway Award

Fantastic news for Anthony (Tony) Wallace, whose novel The Old Priest has been named a finalist for the 2014 PEN/ Hemingway Award!  What a great honor.  We at Creative Writing are proud and impressed! Tony in The Times. As a finalist, Tony will attend the awards ceremony at the Kennedy Library on April 6 and also get a […]

Ashley Anna McHugh wins the New Criterion Poetry Prize

Ashley Anna McHugh has just been awarded the tenth annual New Criterion Poetry Prize for her new book, Into These Knots (Ivan R. Dee, October 2010). Ashley is a 2007 graduate of the Boston University Creative Writing MFA program in Poetry. For news and information about the New Criterion Poetry Prize, visit their website at […]

The Breukelein Institute honors Jhumpa Lahiri

Photo credit: Elena Seibert On Monday, November 15, 2010, The Breukelein Institute conferred its Gaudium Award upon four outstanding men and women: Stephen Colbert, Rick Curry, S.J., Carmen Dell’Orefice, and Jhumpa Lahiri, a graduate of the Boston University Creative Writing program in Fiction and recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for her debut collection of stories, […]

Alumni News

Happy November and welcome back to the blog! We’re happy to share the latest items in alumni news. -Congratulations to Kevin Shushtari (Fiction ’09), recipient of the Forugh Farrokhzad Fellowship Award: Janee J. Baugher (Poetry ’92)’s debut collection of poems, Coordinates of Yes (Alahada Books), was released in March 2010. Visit Janee’s website for […]

Kevin Shushtari wins the July 2010 Glimmer Train Very Short Fiction Award

Congratulations to J. Kevin Shushtari, a May 2009 graduate of the MFA program in Fiction here at BU.  Kevin has just won the  July 2010 Glimmer Train Very Short Fiction Award for his story, “The Vast Garden of Strangers.” He will also contribute an essay to Glimmer Train’s next edition of the Glimmer Train Bulletin, […]

PEN/ O. Henry Prize Winners

We’ve just learned that Ha Jin and BU alumna E.V. Slate have been named winners of the PEN/ O. Henry Prize. Their stories “The House behind a Weeping Cherry” (Ha Jin), and “Purple Bamboo Park” (E.V. Slate) both appear in the forthcoming PEN/ O. Henry Prize Anthology. Congratulations to both!

Schmuel Traum Prize

Katherine Hollander, GRS ‘06, was named first prize winner of this year’s Schmuel Traum Prize in Literary Translation, for her translations, from the German, of poems by Else Lasker-Schüler. Says Katherine,”I’m happy and humbled, since Traum himself seems to have been an extraordinary person who, like Lasker-Schüler, was a German Jew who loved European languages […]

AAP Anthology

It seems to be Rachel DeWoskin Week here at BU Creative Writing. We’ve just learned that her poem, an AAP Contest winner from the year 2000, has been selected to be included in the newest Academy of American Poets Anthology.

Playwriting Award

More good news: I’ve just learned that Stephen Barkhimer (GRS ’07) has won the National John Cauble Short Play Award, from the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival, for his play Hard Rain. Just so there’s no doubt in anyone’s mind, this is a huge deal.  In addition to being an excellent playwright, Stephen is also a […]

Prize Winners

We’re happy to announce the winners of several awards: Nikki Bazar is this year’s winner of the Florence Engel Randall Prize in Fiction. Caroline Sterne is the recipient of the Paul T. Hurley Prize in poetry for 2009. Shilpi Suneja is the recipient of the Saul Bellow Award for fiction for 2009. And Renee Emerson’s […]