Colleen Doyle wins BU AAP student poetry prize

The winner of the 2010 Boston University Academy of American Poets Student Poetry Prize – as selected by this year’s judge, David Rivard – is MFA candidate Colleen Doyle (’10). Honorable mention has been awarded to Rebekah Stout (’10).

In 1955, The Academy of American Poets established its University and College Poetry Prize program at ten schools. The Academy now sponsors over 200 annual prizes for poetry at colleges and universities nationwide, and has awarded more than $350,000 to nearly 10,000 student poets since the program’s inception.

Many of America’s most esteemed poets won their first recognition through an Academy College Prize, including Diane Ackerman, Toi Derricotte, Mark Doty, Alice Fulton, Tess Gallagher, Louise Gl├╝ck, Allen Grossman, Jorie Graham, Kimiko Hahn, Joy Harjo, Robert Hass, Li-Young Lee, Brad Leithauser, J. D. McClatchy, Heather McHugh, Gregory Orr, Robert Pinsky, Sylvia Plath, Mark Rudman, Mary Jo Salter, Gjertrud Schnackenberg, George Starbuck, Mark Strand, and Charles Wright.

Post a Comment

Your email address is never shared. Required fields are marked *